National Council for Social Security Fund

China US$ 236 Billion Origin: Non-commodity

Profile Directories

Sovereign Wealth Funds

Public Funds

Established: 2000
Transparency Rating: 5
View Sovereign Fund Transaction Data
Related Articles
Firm Investment Style: Mixed
Entity Structure: Fund

Fund Details

Strategy & Objectives

SWF Asset Allocation

Direct Investments

Fixed Income Managers

Equity Managers

Alternative Managers

Board and Advisors

Key Executives and People

Main Office

National Social Security Fund Council
Xicheng District
Building 11 Fenghuiyuan
Fenghui Times Building, South Wing
100032 Beijing


The board of directors governs the fund. The Chairman and Vice Chairmen are nominated by the State Council. The rest of the directors are appointed by the State Council.


Established in August 2000, the Central Committee of the Chinese Communist Party and State Council decided to create the National Social Security Fund (NSSF) which is to be administered by the National Council for Social Security Fund (SSF).


This reserve fund is mainly funded by capital and equity assets derived from reduction of state-owned shares, fiscal allocation of the central government, and other investment proceeds. The SSF which manages the fund is a government agency on the ministerial level directly under the State Council of the People’s Republic of China.

Historical Assets Under Management

[ Content protected for Sovereign Wealth Fund Institute Standard subscribers only. Please subscribe to view content. ]