Yoon Seok-yeol Wins the South Korean Presidency

Posted on 03/10/2022

Yoon Suk-yeol is a South Korean attorney, politician, and former public prosecutor who served as Prosecutor General of South Korea between 2019 and 2021 under President Moon Jae-in. Yoon Suk-yeol is of the conservative People Power Party. Yoon Suk-yeol won with 48.56% of ballots going to Yoon, and his rival Lee Jae-myung of the ruling Democratic Party garnering 47.83%. Democratic Party’s Lee admitted defeat after the National Election Commission announced that Yoon had a 0.8% point advantage over Lee after 96.22% of the ballots had been counted.

Yoon Suk-yeol is set to serve a five-year term. He will enter the Blue House in May 2022.

Yoon Suk-yeol gained popularity after convicting several of current President Moon Jae-in’s cabinet members of crimes, including his justice minister Cho Kuk.

Get News, People, and Transactions, Delivered to Your Inbox